Ruminating on Rumi

“Study me as much as you like, you will not know me, for I differ in a hundred ways from what you see me to be. Put yourself behind my eyes and see me as I see myself, for I have chosen to dwell in a place you cannot see.”

― "Divan-i Shams-i Tabrizi" (Rumi)

'Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Rūmī, Mevlana or Mawlānā, Mevlevi or Mawlawī, and more popularly in the English-speaking world simply as Rumi, was a 13th-century Persian poet, jurist, theologian, and Sufi mystic.' Wikipedia

Sat with neighbour-friends to eat, drink and be merry with comfortable conversation as befits a Friday evening. At some point the topic turned to the poetry of Rumi so here is a quote from his writing that suits my thinking about an earlier event of the day. Of the few photos I took, I like this image for several reasons, including the absurdity of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.