Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Life of an RNLI Launch Authority

I had planned a lazy morning practicing some Christmas music on the saxophone but one bite into my breakfast bacon sandwich "Beep beep beep beep"the Lifeboat pager went off. It always goes off one bite onto a meal, no one knows why but It always does.

I called the Coastguard, found out what the problem was and then Paged our Inshore Lifeboat crew to Launch. It was a small catamaran about a mile off the beach which had capsized and was drifting further out.

I jumped in the car, went to the lifeboat station by which time the crew were already with the boat, had helped them to right the catamaran and decided to tow them back to shore. I took some photos, drank coffee, waited an hour or so for them to get back to the station to check the details and finally once the boat was cleaned and back ready to launch I went home but somehow a 2 and a half hour old bacon sandwich doesn't have the appeal it had when fresh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.