Not on the level

Thank you all for my birthday returns yesterday :-)


I overtook a biker this morning and I grinned inwardly as I went by. The paperboy had no idea he’d made my day as I overtook him going downhill as he was taking little hops off the speed bumps.

It must have been my lucky day as three chatting ladies on bikes were my next target. They were standing still at the time but you have to take what you can. They caught me up as I was taking this photo but I did actually pass them again while we were all pedalling.

My ride at this point had taken 22 seconds as I had accidentally switched off my odometer. It was when I realised that I wasn’t able to compare previous times that my mind started wandering towards taking the Cow & Calf hill home. Heading back towards Addingham, the two inclines have so far rapidly curtailed any thoughts of doing longer hills. But not today.

My lungs were on the edge of explosion.
I was not far off the drooling stage.
I got overtaken.

But I’m chuffed.

My right knee isn’t so impressed but I don’t feel the need to do that every day so I’ve told them not to worry. I just needed to know I could.

I’ve since been sorting out my photos and spent far too long knowing something was wrong with the sky and realising we don't have mountains in Wharfedale – I even had to check on Google street view to find the horizontal. I’m struggling to keep my compact camera on the level. Missing my big camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.