Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Lincoln Under The Spotlight

I woke up way too early today and decided to make the best of it by driving into Washington, DC to get some pre-sunrise pictures of the monuments. I pulled out of the driveway at 6:00 AM and was parked a couple of blocks away from the Lincoln Memorial by 6:15 AM.

I've been trying for years to get a photo of the moon over the Lincoln Memorial but the moon has been to high, too low, too far to the left or too far to the right. Today, it was in just about the right place. I took several photos and then turned to watch the sunrise.

After that, I entertained some squirrels in the park (or did they entertain me?). If you've never seen a tripod cozy, click here..

BTW - When I loaded the images on the computer, and was surprised to see the starburst effect seen here. No special filter or lens was used so I am curious as to how this happened...

Thank you all for the wonderful comments, stars, and hearts for my 1000th blip yesterday. You made me one happy blipper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.