CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Market Tavern, a sad site

I was awake early and found myself watching the England rugby league international in New Zealand at about 7-30am. I then pottered about lazily and only got to work at lunchtime on the pictures I have to organise for next week. When the wet weather cleared I took Helena to an event at the Museum in the Park being presented by the WEA lecturer whom we both like and admire.

On the way back after a bit of shopping the light had improved enough for me to go back into town to try to get some better pictures of some sites we need to illustrate and which we can add to our press release on Monday. My earlier pictures had all been taken when it was raining.

One of the sites which are becoming the focus of public attention is the Market Tavern situated just beside the Farmer's Market. The pub has had man incarnations and names but ever since it was first closed down in the 1990s it seemed that the vitality had gone from the place. Now the pub has been bought for development as a supermarket and possibly more, but it will take some time for the planning applications to be submitted when we will know what is intended. The agents for the development company are coming to the meeting so that the public can ask them direct questions about what they intend and how it may affect other shops and the adjacent market place.

I walked through the rear garden and saw its rather sad state. It isn't a particularly interesting or good picture, but I took it to serve a purpose, which a lot of my pictures are for. I need to produce about six A2 prints for the event so it will be good to see how they look when mounted and hung up on display boards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.