Miti Miti Max, 2014

This morning, being Sunday, I ran to Maungawhau. To be honest I walked up the steepest parts of the climb to the summit. Despite delaying my departure until I knew that New Zealand had won the rugby (against England), I did get to the summit before the sunrise. Partly because there was minimal cloud around, the actual sunrise was a blinding orb, and I was unhappy with my photos. I left to head back home and a little below the summit I looked back to see others who had come to see the sunrise, silhouetted against the coloured sky. I have put today's Sunday Sunrise into blipfolio.

Because, after breakfast S and I, accompanied by our daughters, went to an outdoor sculpture exhibition near Narrow Neck Beach on the North Shore. High on the top of a cliff, were many and varied sculptures. I have chosen this one because of its particular setting, and because the artist (Phil Newbury) has named it thus in honour of the memory of Ralph Hotere.

Hotere was of Te Aupouri and Te Rarawa descent, and was born in Mitimiti in Northland in 1931. One of New Zealand's most important artists, Hotere died in February 2013.

This piece is made from sheets of window glass and bottles, with the addition of vitreous enamels. The individual pieces were kiln-fired three times in the fusing and enamelling process.

Beyond the sculpture is a sign warning of the cliff edge. The unmistakable shape of Rangitoto is on the horizon. Aucklanders are at play on the Hauraki Gulf between Rangitoto and the mainland.

Also in blipfolio are:
Feather
Humpback Whale
Hine Moana
Flashback
Watersource
Old man of the sea
Birds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.