mad on pic taking too

By Madonskis

Sunset problems..

I had to go up to the landing to get this shot because the hedges haven't had their tops cut for three years or so.
They cut the edge and a bit of the top but they need to go into the field to do the other side because of a ditch - the cutters won't reach from our side. We used to be able to see the sunset from our front room this time of year. I asked the farmer's wife when I saw her in the lane today if they were going to be cutting it this year and she said she would ask her husband but they have to leave some for wildlife.
Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but if a hedge is left to grow into trees, that will surely affect the type of beasties and birds that like to live in hedgerows?
I'd appreciate any discussion/comments on this.

They've cut both sides on the more accessible hedges so I'm suspecting it's just an access thing. They would have to unlock their gate for the council to cut the other side. I did offer to pay for the stretch opposite my house so we'll see... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.