Reflections

Today I laid a wreath at the cenotaph in Newton Mearns to commemorate those who gave their lives in many wars over many, many years. It seemed extra poignant this year with it being the 100th anniversary of the start of the First World War.

As I was standing there during the 2 minute silence the words of the Eric Bogle song about the ANZAC troops who fought in Gallipoli, 'And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda' went through my head and in particular the final part of the song which goes;

But the band plays "Waltzing Matilda,"
And the old men still answer the call,
But as year follows year, more old men disappear
Someday, no one will march there at all.

It was written in the early 1970's when men who fought in WWI were still around. A few years later he wrote the song that he is probably best known for, 'No Man's Land' or as it is often called, 'The Green Fields of France'.

I have now had the chance to listen to the Joss Stone version of the 'Green Fields of France' and I have to be honest and say that I think the whole purpose and message of the song has been lost in Stone's version.

Today's events left me in a somewhat reflective mood as I headed to the BBC Glasgow studios to appear on Sunday Politics. After I finished the interview I headed outside to look at the river. It was a beautiful day and the water was like molten glass and the reflections in the water seemed to fit the bill for today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.