BoHingles Blips

By BoHingles

Lest We Forget.

These are my Granddad's medals from serving in the Second World War. I don't remember him telling me stories as a child but apparently he did.

What I do know (from my parents), he suffered a broken neck while training other soldiers, back then if you suffered a broken neck or back it was rare to survive, but he did.

While he was in hospital his comrades made the decision to share and divide up his gear between them as they were sure it was the last they'd seen of him. He returned and lived to see his 80's.

This year it's been 100 years since World War I started but I'm afraid lessons still have not been learnt. The world still fights over its land and religion. As you age you begin to realise this is the way it will probably always be... until mankind isn't in control of what nature has in store.

Lest We Forget

Stuart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.