Disaster

This is the picture of the end of our bed - where I have spent a very uncomfortable day (explanation to follow).

This was also my umpty-fourth birthday (hence the cards visible on the dresser) and it was also our wedding anniversary, hence some other cards marking that occasion also.
I have always maintained that Fiona was the best birthday present I ever received!

Anyway - to cut to the chase!
Today we had planned a two-hour boat trip from the harbour at Los Gigantes out on the Atlantic to see dolphins; then to attend a multi-national World War Remembrance service at the pretty little town church; finishing off with a nice dinner and a few glasses of vino at one of the better restaurants.

No way Jose!
Yours truly woke up in the night with a combination of the screaming abdabs and Montezuma's revenge; and so my day was spent in bed, sleeping fitfully and in considerable discomfort, and not far from the you-know-where. All I have consumed today are tablets and fluids.

Fingers crossed for the journey home tomorrow. I remember that I once spent almost an entire flight from Dar es Salaam via Addis Ababa and Rome to London, locked in one of the jumbo-jet toilets - too scared to come out in case someone else went in!
Such events really make for a painfully memorable life enhancing experience.

So.. Fingers crossed for tomorrow. Hope history is not going to repeat itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.