TrishaR

By TrishaR

Aimee

It's been a long time since I've managed to get a willing victim, sorry model for some portrait work but today met up with my friend Lorna's daughter, Aimee. She was really nervous at the start, but kinda relaxed as time went on. We walked a little to a wood where we knew there wouldn't be any passers-by, so she wouldn't feel awkward. It went well, got some good ones that I can use for the camera club competition.

I read a poem today that was on FB, for Remembrance Sunday, written by someone called Woodbine Willie. The words struck a chord with me, as I could image my Great Grandmother, Mary-Ann Cowper feeling exactly what Willie so eloquently wrote after losing her son, Alexander, my Great Uncle at Passchendaele, as he fought alongside his fellow Black Watch soldiers.

I wouldn't mind if I only knowed
The spot where they'd laid my lad;
If I could see where they'd buried 'im
It wouldn't be arf so bad.
But even if a Father never knows
The ache in a Mother's 'eart,
When she and the body 'er body bore
Are severed and torn apart. Woodbine Willie


Never forgotten.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.