Turmeric

Firstly thanks to all of my blip friends for your interesting comments on the Berlin Wall photo yesterday, and thanks for sharing some of your own memories of the wall with me. If you are interested, you can see the one fitness photo that survives from my day at the wall in 1975 - on my FB page here https://www.facebook.com/wayne.gallasch

The wonderful colour of this spice Turmeric caught my attention and it was an easy choice of photo for today.

Beach Organics is situated on Adelaide’s south coast, close to the surfing beaches of Middleton and the historic township of Port Elliot, here in South Australia. It is a permaculturally inspired property growing various herbs and spices to strict organic principles. They told me they grow this spice in their hothouse.

Turmeric is a rhizomatous herbaceous perennial plant of the ginger family, Zingiberaceae. It is native in southeast India, and needs temperatures between 20 °C and 30 °C and a considerable amount of annual rainfall to thrive. This can be easily duplicated in the professional hothouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.