RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Clouds Before The Storm

I saw these clouds developing from our complex, so I hustled down to Playa La Ropa in order to get an unobstructed view of them. Fortunately, the sun moved behind them as I was arriving and produced this spectacular effect. I have just finished reading a book on landscape photography. In it, the author talked about grounding the shot, so I photographed a variety of compositions (as he suggested), some with more foreground, some with less, some with people in them, some without. After reviewing all my efforts, I decided this version where the shape of the clouds resembles the shape of the land mass worked best for me. No distracting people and very little foreground, leaving ones attention focused almost exclusively on the lightshow happening in the sky.

It started raining soon after this, in fact I was caught in a downpour returning from the beach, and moisture has been falling from the sky now for over 12 hours. So much for sunny Mexico!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.