analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Whimsical Ibis. GX1, Leitz Telyt-V 280mm.

I set out this morning intent on Blipping something else, but as I passed the 1909 Harvard Lampoon Building, a study in whimsy, my eye caught the lovely copper ibis (the Lampoon's symbol) who resides on top of a copper dome fashioned to look like a Prussian helmet of the period. Only when I peered through the big lens did I notice that the ibis is bespectacled! Too bad his crocodile tears seem to be the calling card of an obviously unimpressed real bird. Wiki yielded a ton of fascinating information on this wonderful building which I have walked past so many times in the last thirty years and never noticed the ibis... That information is here. The building is chock-full of beautiful Blippable details so I shall have to return tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.