Igor

By Igor

his master’s voice

Anniemay’s at the gym and I’m doodling on the guitar. I try a song and to my surprise, manage to get through it. I try another and then another. This is all very encouraging. But …. I’ve been here before, so don’t get my hopes up too much.

I hear the door open, so grab my music and sing to her as she steps into the kitchen. She doesn’t even put her gym bag down, but just stands and listens. The look on her face says it all. “It sounds like you. We’d better record this.” For the first time in over 4 years I can sing to my wife.

She makes a recording on her iPhone to take to the hospital, for when we see the consultant next month. While he always thought I would be able to have a speaking voice, returning to singing and performing was “clearly rather optimistic.” But today I have some grounds for optimism.

The dog meanwhile, is in his own world. He just stares out of the window listening to Hank Williams singing ‘hey good looking’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.