Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

Exploring the River Windrush

As you turn into Bourton on the Water the river runs alongside the road for about 100 yards and then disappears into the garden of a grand house before appearing again in the High Street. This is the area I usually blip with the attractive bridges.

I decided to explore where the river goes after the garden and discovered this! It flows through this garden in two sections, joins and then creates a little island, which appears to have a small structure on it and then comes together again as one river. I know how hard it was for us to get insurance being within 250m of the river but I cannot imagine how it must impact this stunning Grade II listed property. In fact the Windrush has very rarely flooded and only when the sluice gates down stream have become blocked. How attractive is this?! I was on a public footpath when I took this but I would love to have permission to explore the wee island!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.