Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

What's left..

Since it was Remembrance Sunday, I thought I'd blip more of my WWII memorabilia. I bought a wallet and other bits and bobs at an auction. I've blipped the Soldier's Service & Pay book already.

These items belong to Flight Lieutenant Ronnie Wynzar (112517). He was a Pilot Office/Navigator with the RAF 255 Squadron in WWII. They were a night fighter unit formed in 1940. On one mission, 25th February 1942, his plane crashed, the Pilot and Pilot Officer died, Wynzar was the sole survivor. Many of the Beaufighters crashed due to engine failure, as was the case this time.
I don't know much else about him, I know he survived the rest of the war and think he had 3 kids, one of his grandkids I think I've tracked down through Facebook. It's a very unusual name and I know he lived in Stockton.
I'm not sure why these things ended up in an auction, especially if he has living relatives.

In the photo are his SHAEF pass (Supreme Headquarters Allied Expeditionary Force). Eisenhower was in command of SHAEF, based at Camp Griffiss, Bushy Park, London. It seems such a flimsy, easy reproducible piece of card, for something which must have been very important. There's some American military payment money, train ticket, a Dig for Victory leaflet. The driving licence belonged to the owner of the Soldier's Service book.

It is important to remember and I've enjoyed listening to Radio Four this week, the memories of soldiers from WWI, kept by the Imperial War Museums, hearing their memories first hand truly brings the horrors to life. We never learn, I wonder if we ever will, I hope so.

Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.