Dialogue*

This is the most eloquent, moving, beautiful portrait I have ever seen. It was taken by Daniel Berehulak for the New York Times. The man is, J. Sam Siakor, a university student, teacher and gospel artist. He supervises the water, sanitation and hygiene teams at an Ebola clinic in Sukarno, Liberia.

When I look at this picture, there is a running dialogue in my head. Why is the world so unfair? Why do you have so little when I have so much? Why do we, who have so much, get hysterical when there is one case of Ebola in our country, and you, who have so little, put your life on the line to try to make a difference in stemming a dreadful epidemic?

I think the picture is his answer. It really moves me. And I feel ashamed.

*dialogue: to take part in a conversation or discussion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.