MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Operational

At the doorway to the operating theater at Aravind-Pondy!

Though still incredibly jetlagged, I met with some doctors and staff, and took a tour of the ORs. It was so fascinating to see what they do! Today was "free surgery day" where the surgical teams perform MSICS (or SICS)-method cataract surgery on about 250 patients who were recruited yesterday from the surrounding villages in screening camps. Head nurse, GP, walked me through all the suites, the in-OR reusable instrument sterilizing room, central sterile (which handles all linens and plastic/glass at the end of the day, every day), and the mechanical/air handling rooms.

I also made a friend here in the hospital, who took me out into the street to buy some shampoo. I lived to shower another day!

Though I'm exhausted and can hardly think straight, this project is finally up and running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.