Winter fare

I think our children, now in their 30s, were still at school the last time I cooked Bonfire Night Sausage Delight. IIRC, the recipe came from TV's Blue Peter many, many Novembers ago and, again, IIRC, its name is of my own devising.

Basically, you brown pork sausages in a deep-sided pan, then chuck in sliced onions, chopped Bramleys, 2 or 3 tsps of mustard, then simmer in a quarter pint (c. 150mls) of cider, till the apple and onion are soft, and then dish up. Nice with roast spuds and green beans, as we had today.

The inspiration for this comfort food is the wild, wintry, wet and windy weather that's suddenly set in. It tasted great. Of course, Mr PP and I, who usually only imbibe alcohol at weekends, did have to force down a small glass of cider, while it was still fizzy. Just to empty the tin, you understand. Should be thru my system by the time I drive to table tennis tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.