A fishy tale

After the bustle and excitement of Djibouti, it was wonderful to have the relaxation of a sea day.

Gym. Leisurely breakfasting, talking to people who took other trips. Lectures. Lunch.

And the sea. Watching the sea. Watching passing ships and looking for sea creatures.

We're heading for Salalah in Oman, at the heart of the Frankincense Trail. Currently we are off the coast of Yemen (a country long on my bucket list but definitely out of bounds). And Somalia on the other side. Due to arrive in Salalah the day after tomorrow.

I watched the sea, from a shady spot today. Air temperature 29 degrees. Sea temperature 30 degrees. I saw just below me an enormous fish. Then another. And another. No time to photograph them.

Now I can't really believe that I actually asked the crew member on pirate watch if he'd seen a big fish!!!! He replied politely,"Yes madam, about ten minutes ago". My fish.

I asked a guy with amazing photographic and other gear. They were Dolphins who didn't break the surface of the water. He'd seen them too.

Nobody captured their image.

So you have an Arabian Sea sunset tonight. Enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.