OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Ruinterior

See there, I've coined a new word by conjoining 'ruin' and 'interior.

This is inside a derelict cottage. The ornament is known in Scotland as a 'wally dug', ie a dog that is against the wall on the mantelpiece. Usually in pairs, this one has lost its mate.

I went atramping across the heather moors today, forgetting how very tiring that is. I think a lot of the heathery hills I've walked on, I have actually stuck to forestry roads, drover roads, peat roads, sheep-tracks, deer-tracks anything that saves the hard work. You never get any kind of rhythm going because of the soft/hard, high/low nature of your gait. Especially at the moment when the ground is wet and spongy, easier in high summer where the footing is firmer. Still, it was a nice day and I flushed several red grouse and lots of hares.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.