Michael Plaice

By Cheeryoscuro

I didn't want you then,

and I don't want you now. Is a phrase that's been stuck in my head all day. Was listening to a discussion on the radio while driving the dogs to the vet this morning.
It was on the difficult rights on both sides for children who were given for adoption and their birth mothers about tracing each other. The phrase was what greeted one man when he arrived to meet his birth mother. How you'd begin to cope with that reaction I've really no idea. The film Philomena raised some of these issues in the recent past. There's also a new bill going before the government here giving adoptees a right to their birth cert, listing their original name and their parents’ names. Birth parents can request information about their adopted sons or daughters and adoptees and natural parents can choose whether they want to release their current contact details to each other.
Anyway, I wandered a bit as you sometimes do, trying to match an image to my thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.