Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

St Mary's Church, Melton Mowbray.

I have been pottering around Melton today with my brother and visiting the farmers market and the general market in one of streets in town.
The market is held every Tuesday and is quite renowned all over the county.

We also looked in at the auction for the sale of livestock. I did take some close up shots of sheep and cows. They did all look somewhat forlorn. I think I would be knowing that eventually a lot will end up on someones plate. Apologies to all vegetarians.

On our way back to the car park, we walked past the church, I was undecided whether to post in colour or black and white as I have now done.
The Church dates back as far as the 13-15th century, but the lower part of the church actually dates back to the 11th century.
It is the largest church in the Diocese and it dominates views from where ever you are in town.
It had 6 bells until approximately 1840, but since then another four have been added over a long period of time.

I liked the detail of the Church and liked it in B&W and I hope you do as well.
May worth a look in large to appreciate the detail.

I am of back home tomorrow and I wonder what the traffic is going to be like!!!

Enjoy and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.