TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Time is RollingOn&Off like the Surf

What was the most striking difference between yesterday’s and today’s seaside experience? As place and time of the day were quite similar this question moves to the foreground. Well, first of all: there were no kite surfers. No waves, nothing to surf. And for unknown reasons there were less walkers around. I saw one young family with children having lazy beach fun. Mum&Dad laying behind a sandhill in the warm sun out of the breeze. The children were digging something. Quite extraordinary for a Autumn holiday half November. One Zanderling was walking barefoot, while I only put off one wellie to dry my sock, after being surprised by a strong surf wave. The kind you see on today’s photo.

But the difference that I will remember as the most surprising? That was sitting down in the sand leaning back against a great beach pole. Closing my eyes in the still warming sun and breathing deeply. Feeling the burdens flowing down, turning slightly my neck. Thinking of Nothing. Ten minutes. No more. But I felt so grateful for such an unexpected interval. Of all jobs done, this moment made my day. Of course I should mention here the delicious meal prepared by Willemien. A Spicy Indian Mie Meal.

So, such are our days, working hard - sometimes making less progress than desired - on the coming transition. Mischa and Willemien taking care for the cleaning&decorating part. Me for the repair chores. Meanwhile, I try to do all this as various exercises. As I was carrying two heavy bags upstairs, I silently hummed: “Die and Become”. Playing the music comes next. Being deeply in touch with the unknowable ground of this “Sporting Life”. Meanwhile the rhythm of time is rolling on and rolling off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.