We will remember them

'We will remember them' were the words chosen by Katherine to write on the note for our handmade wreath.
All the Brownies were very busy making poppies to go on our wreath and making ones to wear.
The girls were asked to find out about the role of girl guiding in the first world war. They played a significant part and Fortrose Guides knitted scarves and socks for the Seaforth highlanders serving at the front.
One of the girls brought in a copy of a telegraph informing her family of the death of her Great Grandad and also the list of items he carried including a broken mirror, letters, photos and cigarette case.
We then walked down to the war memorial at the Cathedral and laid our wreath. The girls looked at the names listed and one of the Brownies pointed out her relative that died in the first world war.
We finished the evening sharing chips, we needed something cheery to end the session.

Richard gave me a lift to Dingwall as I had an appointment with the Consultant. I had an hour or so to waste so wondered round the town, looked at the war memorials and then wandered down to Ferry Point to see if 'my' heron was there he was, looking very grand but something caught my eye. At first I thought it was a late swallow heading straight under the bridge but to my surprise it was a Kingfisher. That classic flash of brilliant blue as it dashed under me. It landed somewhere in the trees along the bank but I could nt spot it and I was nearly late so had to dash to my appointment. Just made it on time and he was running late anyway. Had my blood pressure taken and not surprisingly it was incredible high, my white coat syndrome coming out again. Have taken it again since I got home and it has gone down but still abit high so will keep an eye on it. Luckily my cholesterol level is low.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.