horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Vinyly Digitised

I'd asked to Mel's dad yesterday if he still had his USB turntable thing as I'd quite like to borrow it, came home from work and there it was on the table. So the old vinyl was dug out of the loft: some of it mine, singles from the late 80s when I got my first 'hi fi' for my very own room (an absolute shock of a Christmas present, double tape deck for recording, FM radio, ah, it was absolutely brilliant); some from my parents (including the original Sgt Pepper, Rumours, Greatest Hits of Elton John, 10CC, Abba, Mud Rock, as well as soundtracks from Fame and Stardust, and slightly oddly Back in Black by AC/DC, as well as Love Over Gold which I remember sparking my interest in Dire Straits which ran for years); and then some really old stuff from Mel's gran, 78rpm records of heavy, heavy vinyl with the likes of Jummy Shand and Bill Haley, and various bands and orchestras I've never heard of playing polkas and waltzes.

It'll take a bit of time to work through all of that, and every crackly moment will be a joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.