The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Barge jumping

Everyone in the resort, including 2 new people, signed up to do a little organised trip in the afternoon. We walked through the forest for an hour (led by a 15 year old Cambodian girl and a dog) to a fishing village on the other side of the island where we waded out to the houses on stilts. We were given amazing ice coffees before getting in to a longboat and taken to a huge navel barge.

Those who wanted to jump from it got on board and climbed the many steps to the top. It was a 46ft jump, which when you're standing looking down feels like a very long way! Four of us jumped together on the count of three (which actually made it a lot easier). The second I jumped (with my GoPro held tightly in one hand), my heart was in my mouth but by the time I'd resurfaced I wanted to do it again immediately! We all did it twice as the sun went down over the island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.