LightWave

By LightWave

Who Needs an Elliptical Trainer...

... when you could be shoveling snow?

I cleared the driveway today. All by myself. We must have had 8 or 10 inches. I'm getting in training for when Mr. L has shoulder surgery next week - someone's going to have to do the heavy lifting for a few weeks :)

All the time I was shoveling, I was entertained by large flocks of sandhill cranes heading south. I could always hear their rattling cries before birds appeared over the tree tops. Two flocks even flew right over the house. At times, they would mill around, flying in circles until they were joined by a straggling group. I suppose this recent snow means that the cranes have decided that they have had enough - after all, they can't be raiding cornfields when they are under a foot of snow!

Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.