Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Bit of a Stretch

Here is one of the display refrigerators from our local mini supermarket. See LARGE.

I finally had a chance to wander about with Trish's new fish eye lens. I have several images to show you, if you are interested, and have posted links to them below. Norma picked the one above as today's blip and so I've gone with that.

I have to admit that I have never owned a lens this wide (180 degrees angle of view) and I was having to learn quite a few new techniques as I went. Parts of my body kept getting into shot and the management of shadows & exposure zones became surprisingly difficult at times. Due to the absence of a dedicated dof indicator on the lens, I was having to learn by trial and error what various apertures and focusing distances would do as I went. I WAS pleased to find out, however, that with a little experience and practice the lack of automatic focus and general electronic contact between lens and camera body became largely a non issue.

I have almost decided to get one of these things. Trish is getting her Samyang 7.5mm wide angle prime lens back tomorrow. How badly will I miss it? Time will tell. I am strictly a beginner with this sort of thing but here are a few of the images I managed in a brief walk around Blackheath this afternoon. I do intend to improve:

Fisheye #1
Fisheye #2
Fisheye #3
Fisheye #4
Fisheye #5
Fisheye #6
Fisheye #7

ONE more thing! 1300 blips today!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.