OzGeoff

By OzGeoff

Petersham Town Hall

Petersham Town Hall is one of the few remaining Art Deco town halls in Sydney that has been maintained in original condition.

The original Town Hall was built in 1882. This replacement was opened in 1938. The only portion retained of the old building is the clock in the tower.

On 1 January 1949 the former Municipalities of Marrickville, Petersham and St Peters amalgamated as the Marrickville Municipality. In 1968 parts of Camperdown and Newtown were also incorporated into the Marrickville Municipality. With the Council Offices then being consolidated here in Petersham Town Hall. Now further amalgamations are being discussed. I am uneasy about this as Marrickville is progressive and has a strong environmental focus which doesn't exist in the councils that it may amalgamate with.

I had two meetings at Marrickville Council today (the council offices are now located from where I took this photo. In between these two meetings I had another in Glebe which was cancelled when I arrived as I was the only one able to attend. Are well, at least I had a break.

Pretty tired now so may not get much commenting done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.