Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

The Shrinking Man (and his Shrinking Wallet)

I should have known it was going to be an expensive day when the bus driver said she had no change this morning!

I dropped my car in at the local garage for a service and caught the bus to work in Huddersfield.  At lunch time I met Harriet who had driven over from university in Bradford.  After my   eye test on Monday she had volunteered to meet me in town. Her mission was for us to have lunch together and to stop me buying some cheap, horrible spectacles help me choose some stylish glasses.  

The eye measurements for my new glasses took as long as Monday’s sight test. I now know that that my pupillary distance is 63.5mm. Eighteen months ago it was 64mm,  so my head must be shrinking at the rate of a centimetre every 30 years.

The optician said that my new expensive, designer eyewear will be ready by the end of next week.

Here’s a blip of Harriet over lunch.

At least the bus driver had change for the journey back to the garage this evening, but, by the end of the day, I find that I am £800 poorer!

Good job it’s pay day this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.