The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Pope Pius's Library

2008 Family trip to Italy. (Large) We spent the day in Sienna guided by the young historian we met when we were in Rome. I love Sienna, even more than Florence I think. It was really hard choosing just one photo to represent the day. I finally decided to feature the library of Pope Pius (forget which one). It is a long thin room off the main room of the Duomo. The ceiling and upper walls are covered with frescos that are in bright mint condition. The floor is tiled. The lower walls have cabinets with illuminated manuscripts in them. All of it made me breathless when I saw it. Amazing. Beautiful. Awesome, really not just the use of the word. If you ever get to Sienna, do not miss this room off the main room. Oh and one of the sculptures near the door in the main from was carved by the young Michelangelo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.