CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The River Frome at Capel's Mill viaduct

Torrents of rain fell early this morning and I offered to drive Helena int town as she had an appointment to have her hair cut at 9am. I took the opportunity to g to have a free coffee and a bacon roll at our local supermarket which was a bit of a treat. I came home and completed some planning work, and then decided to head down to the canal as the sun had come out to play.

I knew I didn't have long as I needed to attend a final planning meeting this afternoon for Saturday's big event at the Subscription Rooms. But I'm glad I went as I got some exercise, some fresh air and even managed a couple of conversations with other people on the towpath. I went to the site of Capel's Mill, which has long gone, where the River Frome still flows over the old stones marking the place where the mill wheel must have been. A railway viaduct crosses the river at this same point but high up in the air.

I didn't see any of the usual birds which appear there: neither wagtails, white throated dippers nor kingfishers. I just enjoyed the sound of the fast flowing river and the light streaming through the nearly leafless trees. It was a bit challenging though with the deep shadows between the high river banks and the bright blue sky behind the treetops. It was even too warm for a normal November day, and I fear the consequences for the natural history of the area, even though I love warmer weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.