Coot on the Water

I was feeling a bit bleak this evening. This house “down-sizing” stuff is getting to me a bit. So I skipped going to a Camera Club meeting and escaped to one of my favourite sanctuaries for a short while. The darkness was gathering over the lake at the Taylor Dam and the birds were putting themselves to bed. This little coot was pottering around on the water all on its own-some….no doubt drinking in the peace of its environment.
Why is it that water is so calming and peaceful?
I could see a big bank of clouds moving over the Wither Hills to the south of the dam. By the time I got home and settled down to do my blip the rain had arrived in a heavy dramatic shower. We need more rain in the region but can do without the violent thunderstorms and hail storms that have caused enormous damage to the crops and land in some parts of the country.
Thank you to my Blip-Friends who so kindly gave my image of yesterday, The River Queen, hearts and thus sent it to the Spotlight page. I was surprised and delighted and will be showing the image to the owner of the River Queen just so he know that his River Queen was famous for a day.... Arohanui


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.