Leaving

I know that in theory this gull should be to the left of the frame with room to fly into - but the gull flew too fast for me to keep up. So here he is already leaving the frame.

I had a late start from Leithfield today - crappy weather and a good book meant I dragged the chain a little over breakfast. I headed into Christchurch and bought a piece of foam for the van (Katey and Jipsy - having a go at setting up a shorter bed that I can leave up - thanks for the idea). Then I was heading out to the beach thinking I'd take some photos - but I decided to visit my sister at work instead.

Had a lovely catchup with her, and then texted Jillian (of Jilllian's Journal) on the spur of the moment thinking we might have a two person blip meet.

We did. Over coffee in Sumner. Great catch up. Thanks Jilllian!

When we finally stopped talking and went our separate ways I went down to the beach. I took some photos of Shag Pile but they were all boring. Then I tried some beachy self portraits, which were reasonable except that they had me in them. Not keen on that!

So I went around the estuary and took photos of godwits. The tide was really too far out and none of them were feeling photogenic today. In the end I had to make do with this gull - and even he took off on me.

I finished off at Spagalimis for dinner with Sarah and Sebastian. Now we're at their house and Sebastian has shown me the presents he got for his birthday last weekend. I can't believe he is 5 years old. I so clearly recall that little half formed tadpole in Wellington NICU 5 years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.