Give Me Caffeine....

By Caffeinated

A Day for a Decision

The psychiatrist came to see me today. The chat involved the next step to my recovery. I had discounted Lithium on the grounds that it is hard to get the right dose and needs a lot of blood tests to make sure it isn’t affecting other parts of my body such as kidneys and thyroid issues.

I have decided to go for ECT. I got the option to go in as an in- patient for 2 weeks while they do blood tests and an ECG and get the first treatment. It is also an opportunity for them to make sure I eat and sleep and get a break from the flat and life. I have decided to do it as an out- patient though. I want to be in my own home. I have to go to my GP to get full bloods taken tomorrow morning and get an ECG done at Leith Treatment Centre on Monday hopefully. The first treatment could happen as quickly as Tuesday or Friday. I will get it twice a week for up to 6wks. It will depend how I react to it.

I feel alone, with no one to turn to, to discuss this. A decision made by myself which was hard. I am terrified, but I have to do this. I need to get better.

The photo.....just some leaves on the door mat.

Backblipped for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.