The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

RSPB Conwy

And so it finally came to pass that I made it to RSPB Conwy!

I have had a very long standing promise to visit the reserve with Julian Hughes, who is reserve manager there. I've known Julian a few years now through the Welsh Ornithological Society. He is currently acting chairman for that organisation too. I have to say he is one the nicest blokes I have met.

It was Julian's day off and he had come back to reserve to do some birding with me and Dawn and our other good friend I haven't seen for a few years, Phil Gatley. Phil is a wheelchair birder and I know he does a lot in improving the experience for other disabled birders and access on various reserves. I was mad to find out I missed him at BirdFair this year.

The weather was far too gloomy for any decent photography, but it was dry! So it was birding day.

What a wonderful reserve. We walked the entire loop of the reserve, which had various lagoons, ponds and stunning views out on to the estuary. As Julian pointed out, not many reserves have a view from the hide of a 13th century castle!

There were large numbers of robins on the reserve. Other highlights were a couple of Common Gulls, decent numbers of Snipe, a flyover of the first Redwings of this winter/ autumn for me and decent numbers of wintering wildfowl.

It was then time for coffee and cake .. mandatory at a RSPB Reserve, and a good old chat.

Julian had to dash off mid afternoon, so me, Dawn and Phil went down to the nearest hide and watched a couple of Mergansers doing their sawbill thing as the sun finally put in an appearance this weekend!

An absolute cracker of a day ... thanks to Phil and Julian for making us so welcome .. we have been invited back up in Spring .. can't wait already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.