Peahen

By Peahen

Comfort break for the honey bees

Back at the farm today. The early morning torrential rain cleared to leave brilliant blue skies and seemingly endless sun and as a result I could easily blip ten times over today. I have portraits, deer caught mid-leap, autumn colours....

Here are the bees. Their hive entrance is towards the bottom of the picture. These bees weren't out collecting pollen but were engaged in cleaning the hive, the bee equivalent of spring cleaning before they slow down for the winter. Part of this important job is getting out for a toilet break, as apparently they don't "go" in the hive. I bet you'll all thank me for that knowledge when you spread your honey on your weekend toast in the morning. Still, as an ex-boyfriend's chemistry teacher once said: "A day without learning is a day wasted".

I love the second bee down on the right, he looks like he should be in his own movie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.