Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

Cubs badges you didn't earn...

The boy came back from Cubs tonight with 5 badges. In one go. I don't think he earned them. He was really blasé about the whole affair. And has only been in Cubs for about a month and a half.

Like any good dad, I checked what he should have done to get them. Made a 2 course meal and understood the nutritional value? Em...no.

Knowing how to protect his home from crime? Shaky, at best.

Be able to use 6 figure grid references on an OS map, which you have set to North? Wut??

So...do I just accept the pretend success, because after all, it's only Cubs. Or do I be "that guy" and ask the Cub leaders to value the badges, and thus encourage the children to value the badges? Who is winning points by doing these?

Epilogue
8 year old Lee sat in the back garden of Police House, Banavie with a tray of lumpy blue paint and a mangled potato, "printing". Because the book said I had to, so that's what I did. And 8 year old Lee disrespects 8 year old Kit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.