The Way I See Things

By JDO

Lucy's Mill Weir

I've been wanting to try a "soft water" shot for a while now, and CH suggested that the weir by Holy Trinity Church in Stratford might be a good place. So we pottered over there this afternoon, only to discover that the light was too strong - I couldn't stop down far enough to get a long exposure. Luckily, by the time we'd walked into town and had something to eat the light was fading, so we went back and this time I had more success.

For a first attempt I'm fairly pleased with this, but I'd like to try again on an overcast day: in some of the shots I took today there was a strange halo effect around the finer tree branches, which was difficult to minimise in editing, and I suspect it happened because I was working at the very extreme of what this lens can do. The other thing about shooting at f/25 into a reasonably bright sky, of course, is the discovery of just how much dirt there is on your camera sensor.... but I'll probably recover from the trauma of that eventually!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.