A fly

Yep! That's right - it's a fly.

I have trawled through that many fly images until I itch all over, but I cannot identify it.

Actually the last thing I wanted to blip today was a fly - I had so much to choose from, but this is the most unusual thing I saw all day.

And have you ever seen a teeny tiny fly with spots in its wing that look like spiders? Any of you entomologists out there, please let me know if you ID it.

We got into the top side of the Belair Park by commando crawling under the fence. The gate to the fire track is always kept locked, and we've been bitching about that for ages. But now we've seen what's it like in there, the last thing you'd want is hordes of hikers, bikers and general tourists planting their size 11s all over the place.

It's a very remote part of the Park right on top of the ridge, and to hike up there from the lower parts would be a major haul.

It's a treasure trove of plants, insects and birds.

EDIT: Thanks Dollykgrey and UniqueandLovely. It is a kind of fruit fly. And before any other South Australians go off, it's not THAT kind of fruit fly, which is Bactrocera tryoni . It's a goniurellia tridens fruit fly, or picture wing fly which is usually found on its host plant. In this case, I think it was on a swan plant, which is also host to the caterpillars of the Monarch Butterfly.

For all those not in Australia who don't know what I'm talking about, fruit flies cause untold damage to fruits in the northern and eastern states, but are not found in South Australia. And we want to keep it that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.