Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The Castle Breakwater YET AGAIN!

Well it has been a month since I last blipped it...

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments about my nighttime shot of the markets and my tale of smugglers and barrels of bonded spirit! It took me back to 1959 when I sat my scholarship exam (the equivalent of the UK 11+). The English exam had a couple of sentences describing a moonlight beach and we were expected to write the rest of an essay. No problem! I wrote an (in my opinion) amazing Enid Blyton style adventure set on the beach; Timmy the dog was the star.

I passed and got the scholarship to Ladies College but once there the headmistress (whose turn it was that year to set the English exam) told us that she expected an essay not an Enid Blyton adventure. Well that year she got some children with a vivid imagination who were not afraid to think outside the box!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.