RogMull

By RogMull

Multi-Party Britain..

Thirty four years ago, I wrote a chapter in this book, edited by the late Dr Henry Drucker, explaining why the two party system in the UK was inevitably in decline, heading towards a truly multi-party system.

I was reminded of the book at the SNP conference by someone I hadn't met for at least 30 years. In early morning conversation he suggested "It maybe took a little longer than you expected, Roger, but the old days of two party politics are dead".

He also asked if I was going to be speaking at conference (probably he wanted to time his coffee break to coincide with my speech!), and indeed I was hoping to at the time, but such was the scale of the conference, there was no guarantee I'd be called. But I was lucky, and able to speak on the need for full fiscal autonomy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.