Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Uma Daze

Stunning pre and post make-up!

Today I started my photography degree project which will become an end of year show. It is a documentary project showcasing the lives of a small group of drag queens on and off stage all sited in and around the venue in which they work.

My first step into documentary style photography and a fantastic start with the 'girls' backstage who are so lovely and friendly.

Mr John joined me and we had a fun few hours taking loads of photos, I even had to borrow an SD card as I ran out of space.

Some are likely to judge me as to the reasons I am getting involved. For me this is a great opportunity to learn a little about the lives of the 'queens' on and off stage and to document this in photographs for others to see too. It is a scene I would not otherwise have an opportunity to spend time in and talk to the people who are part of it day-to-day. Through getting to know the girls as I go through my project with them I want to learn more about their spirit, drive and sense of fun with their flamboyancy and transformations into their alter egos. Of course life isn't all a barrel of laughs and glamour and so I aim to take a glimpse into the 'normal' parts of their lives too at the venue like getting ready, rehearsing etc.

I have a responsibility to be sensitive to the individuals and want to tell their story through the images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.