Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Kitties Love Fishies Yes They Do

So! Today has been quite eventful!

Went to Petsmart because there's a big adoption weekend event going on. Cosmo's not doing the greatest, and I've lost cats (I almost lost Cosmo) when one cat died and the other cats weren't prepared for it. (That's how we ended up with Tuxie -- Cosmo had stopped eating and drinking water and was wasting away. My uncle gave me Tuxie to be Cosmo's friend. Shortly after, the other cat we had died, but she was about to go before we brought Tuxie home. She died as a result of the first cat's death. She just couldn't cope.)

So we've been browsing for kittens, and we plan to get one before Cosmo passes on.

Took all three cats with us so they could meet the candidates for their new companion/brother. Nova loves to hiss at kittens and act tough and mean, but he falls in love with them pretty quickly. (We've been through this before, when we rescued a ginger kitten a few years ago and he lived with us for about a month or so. Nova and Apollo -- the kitten -- ended up best friends, and I'm glad that Apollo lives with my family because every time we go to visit Nova and Apollo are thrilled to see each other again.)

So, we have it narrowed down to one of two brothers. I really don't want to separate the two, but we can only afford one and someone else will likely separate them anyways.

The kittens are named Tony and Morris. The one that seems the best fit is named Morris. My significant other and I are both more in love with Tony, but in the end it really comes down to which kitten is a better fit for our cats, not which kitten we want more. We won't love Morris any less than we'd love Tony. It's just that we prefer Tony's personality.

Both Cosmo and Tuxie love Morris. Morris loves Tuxie and likes Cosmo quite a bit.

By the end of it, Nova was hissing less than usual, which is progress.

We're gonna call up the shelter tomorrow and ask if we can have an overnight stay with Morris to see how the cats get along in our home.

Tuxie and Cosmo were sad to leave the kittens, so we took them to see the fish before we left. They LOVE looking at the fish. Cosmo tried to nab a red-bellied toad. Not to eat or prey upon or anything. He just loves frogs and toads.

I would honestly prefer to adopt an adult cat because they have a lower chance of being adopted. (There's a sweet blue girl named Spice that's been up for adoption for over a year now, and no one will take her. If it weren't for the fact that I have a long history of bad experiences with female cats, as does Tuxie and Cosmo, I'd adopt her.) But Tuxie doesn't like adult cats he doesn't already know. Cosmo and Nova are perfectly fine with adult cats, but Tuxie isn't, and Nova needs a good playmate that can learn to be the playmate he needs.

So as guilty as I feel walking past all the loving adult cats that need a good home, what it ultimately comes down to is what cat is best for our family, and a kitten would be best.

I do hope to open a cat shelter after we move back to our hometown in the near future. Already have a name picked out, and I've been researching how to fund raise for shelters and how to financially sustain them. I plan on specializing in black cats because they have it the hardest, especially adult black cats. And black cats will always have a very special place in my heart. There have been black cats around for most of my life and there's just something positively magical about the way black cats are.

I've always found black cats to be lucky. I hope to make other people feel the same way. I'm also inspired to take care of special needs cats, as each of my cats has their own needs, but Nova is definitely a special needs cat.

On our way to Petsmart we saw a Japanese vehicle with Russian plates HERE IN TEXAS.

That was pretty incredible.

Actually, I had a really hard time choosing which photo to blip today, the Russian license plate in Texas or the kitties enjoying themselves at Petsmart. Ultimately I let Tuxie pick which photo to post. He picked this one. So this one it is!

Nothing else really going on today other than introducing my significant other to Crown the Empire's latest album while crocheting and typing up a story. (I decided to drop out of NaNoWriMo this year, so it's not for NaNoWriMo. Just a story I feel like writing.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.