Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

To Elgin! And don't spare the radio!

I gave myself 40 minutes for the 7 mile drive to the train station this morning. I thought it was a bit OCD over cautious of me.

But no! Turns out I wasn't cautious enough! Some poor sod in a broken car = snarled up traffic = slow crawl to full stop for 40 minutes = miss my early o'clock train to Elgin.

One swift Starsky and Hutch turnaround at the Dyce roundabout later (come to think if it, I bought a John Paul Glaser cardigan in Primarche in Bristol last month) and it was time to pedal the yes car metal all the way to Elgin, making the meeting by the skin of my teeth. I admittedly did get lost on arrival and resorted to firing up my phone's sat nav for the first time. Thank goodness for the nice posh lady talking me through the back streets of Elgin. But a wee bit disappointed she doesn't intersperse the directions with observational comedy, that ditches the dirt on local landmarks or points out scenes of ill repute and scandal. There's a gap in the market for that.

Water, water everywhere both there and back, but thankfully everybody was playing it very safe, avoiding daft speeds and not indulging in aqua planning overtaking. Took ages coming home watching out for massive puddles and avoiding the overwhelming temptation to create massive waves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.