Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

My Father's War

During all these commemorative activities for the 100th anniversary of WW1, I was reminded that in my garage is stored the gas mask my father was issued in 1940.

Unfit for active service, he joined the volunteers to fight fires in our Capital city. This involved much training and long nights on duty at the ready in case of enemy action. Gas masks were issued - just in case.

As an English immigrant, he was hugely disappointed he couldn't go and fight for his 'home country'. It was no consolation that he was doing his bit for his adopted country.

I don't know why he kept the mask. I don't even know why I am keeping it. I suppose it is a memento of a very significant time in World History, and it is a memento of a man who firmly believed 'every man should do his duty'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.