CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Lochee Park Entrance

A dull, overcast but dry day.

I saw my Cardiac Consultant this morning and had some blood tests which will set in motion the process of arranging for another Pacemaker to be fitted. I had been reluctant to do this a couple of weeks ago when I had the previous one taken out, but my experience since then has convinced me that I should give it another try. Hopefully this time will be more successful than the last time.

On the way home, we passed the Entrance to Lochee Park which lies to the North of Balgay Hill, where the Observatory is sited. The Park contains 23 acres, and was presented by Messrs. Cox Brothers, Camperdown Works, in 1890 and partly endowed by them. It is reserved for recreative purposes, and provision is made for football, cricket and golf, as well as a gymnasium for children.

Dundee is fortunate that these Jute Mill owners were so willing to fund so many buildings and Parks - the Victorian entrepreneurs certainly left their mark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.