The wondrous Lavender flowers

The mists were still thick when I drove Helena to work this morning. She isn't fully fit but she didn't want to let the school down. I went shopping o the way home and had a coffee at Waitrose to try to kick myself into gear, as I am still rather jaded after the recent exploits.

When I finally got home I decided to make another coffee and while I waited for the percolator to brew I went outside the back door and was amazed at how warm it was in the sunshine which had by now broken through. I went to get my camera and the macro lens and after pouring my coffeeI went with it onto the patio in search of possible spider's webs.

I didn't find any special ones that grabbed my attention, but instead I found flowers and fruits and gorgeous light. The first thing I spotted was the morning glory flower, still wrapped or coiled up waiting for a bit ore heat from the su=n t burst out. This plant has just started to flower having grown from this year's seeds that dropped into the plant pot its parent flowered in many months ago. I am quite astonished and don't really know what tho conclude from it.

ThenI walked further down the garden and spotted a bunch of fruiting raspberries at the end of a branch. Several of them were actually ripe and a couple of them were covered in mould, showing that they must have been there as fruits for some time. We had most of their fruit early in the summer so a new crop is most unexpected.

The medlar fruits have mostly gone, and I presume they have been eaten. I did touch one of the last ones left and it was now quite soft and 'bletted' which is what you wait for in order to be able to use the medlar fruit in jams for instance. I don't think two fruits is enough unfortunately. This year there has been a lot of growth of the branches rather than fruit.

Finally as I walked back up to the patio I saw this lovely Lavender plant still flowering as it grows in its pot. I had intended to plant it in the garden soil but yet again haven't got round to much gardening. So many essential tasks have been on the back burner again this year. Maybe I can squeeze in a bit of garden toil in the next couple of weeks before the weather becomes too inclement. These flowers are showing me yet again how nature tries so hard to grow and prosper and bring flowers and fruits to fulfil their life cycle. It is a good lesson to observe and take note of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.